20 Saturday…

One thing I love about college football Saturday’s is that it’s a roller coaster of stories. I talked about ND-Michigan on Friday and that turned out about as bad as can be for the Irish.

Beyond that game, it was like every time you turned your head a great upset was brewing…Texas just gets by UCF….Louisville loses to Kentucky….Utah rips up UCLA. But it might be Alabama’s win over favored Arkansas that has the most legs. The well-traveled Nick Saban is now 3-0. Let’s not go crazy, they have Georgia and Florida State the next two weeks, but this is a great start for fans that needed it.

Ok, now on to the NFL…enjoy the day.

-Dan

12 Responses

  1. Is it just me, or has this college FB season had more early upsets than most past seasons? I feel like every week a new team is getting knocked down. First Michigan, Notre Dame, and Fla St.; then Georgia, Auburn and Boise State; and this week Arkansas, Louisville, and ULCA all go down. Is it a weak year for college FB, or is this what makes the sport so great?? Maybe I just feel this way because I am an SEC fan and they aren’t as strong as they have been in the past.

  2. The kids at Alabama and Arkansas both showed a lot of heart yesterday. It was a battle to the end which is really all you ask for in a college football game. We’ve got tickets for the FSU/Bama game and, frankly, I was thinking it wasn’t going to be very good. Yesterday Bama changed my mind. Saban was pushing his guys and arguing calls in the fourth quarter like it was the fourth. Last night, Bobby Bowden seemed to be taking a more active role during the game than I’ve seen in years. ‘Bout time.

  3. Georgia and Florida State? You’re joking, right? I hate Nick Saban as much as the next guy and certainly don’t want to see Bama fans get anything more to lose their minds over than they’ve already got, but the Tide will easily roll past UGA and FSU.

  4. As a UCF grad, I’m proud of the Knights. But I’m not sure Texas is all its cracked up to be. UCF’s quarterback didn’t have a great day. If he had a good day the Knights would be 2-0.

  5. I went to Indiana, and since we “never caught a rabbit”, I’m happy to see the mighty fall.

    All I know is that my much-maligned Hoosiers are undefeated at this point, and I’m going to enjoy it for as long as it lasts.

  6. That Arkansas-Alabama game was the best game I’ve seen this year.

  7. Being a Bama fan, I enjoyed the victory. Lets not fool ourselves into thinking this team is great. Arkansas had a field day on the ground. Every great team has these breaks in a great season, but the Tide’s imperfections will haunt them more then once before the season is over. LSU will unfortunately eat their lunch.

  8. How about that Tim Tebow? If the gators sure up the defense they will be for real. Way to many offesive weapons. The game of the year for them at Baton Rouge.

  9. What would you do if you were Jimmy Clauson?
    Go to USC. Wait a couple of years to start behind John David Booty and Mark Sanchez. Play for a Bowl Championship Team every year. Play for a coach who is
    beloved by his players. Have an offensive line to protect you and give you time to throw the ball.
    Or…Go to Notre Dame. Start as a freshman. Get your lumps and hope Charlie Weis can recruit and coach a team back to national prominance. The clock is ticking for Charlie.

  10. If we want to talk about upsets, we can’t ignore how Florida State beat my Colorado Buffs. Ok, I guess it was hardly an upset, but it was still sad.

  11. Dan,

    Regarding your video commentary. I don’t think Bilichick got that severe a punishment. Compared to Wade Wilson, he got a slap on the wrist. Why wasn’t he suspended? For once, I agreed with Cowherd. They should have forfieted the game. Now, let’s get to the most important issue. How is your fantasy team doing? Keep us updated.

  12. IF Irish go 1-7 or 0-8, WILL WEIS GET FIRED???

Leave a Reply

