Mike Vick….has he always “accepted responsibility”?

Here is Michael Vick’s statement from July 26th, read by lawyer Billy Martin:

“Today in court I pleaded innocent to the allegations made against me. I take these charges very seriously and I look forward to clearing my good name. I respectfully ask all of you to hold your judgment until all of the facts are shown. Above all, I would like to say to my mom I am sorry for what she has had to go through in this most trying of times. It’s caused pain for my family and I apologize to my family. I also want to apologize to my Falcon teammates for not being with them.”

 

Martin went on to say this that day:

 

“We are conducting our own investigation, looking forward to standing before the world to say that Michael Vick is innocent,” Martin told reporters moments after his client left the courthouse at 4:02p..

 

Yesterday vick’s lawyer Billy Martin said this:

 

“From the beginning, Mr. Vick has accepted responsibility for his actions, and his self-surrender further demonstrates that acceptance,” attorney Billy Martin said in a statement. “Michael wants to again apologize to everyone who has been hurt in this matter, and he thanks all of the people who have offered him and his family prayers and support during this time.”

 

    I know it’s a lawyers job to say whatever benefits his client, but it’s not my job to believe him.

 

15 Responses

  1. The only way that any of those words could be believed is that Vick is truly innocent but due to his partners flipping on him for a lesser deal he felt that a plea agreement was the only viable option. Do I believe this to be true, not really. I just wish we could fast forward through this whole jail time and see who he plays for after he gets out of the pen.

  2. “I know it’s a lawyers job to say whatever benefits his client, but it’s not my job to believe him”

    I’m using that one, I will give you the credit

  3. I have a hard time trying to believe that an athlete would tell the public anything but the full truth.

    Signed,

    Rafael Palmeiro

  4. This from the man who claimed, after the ring was broken up, that he “loves dogs”…….

  5. In today’s 24/7 media, it’s easy to get a falsehood repeated enough times that uncritical folks will eventually believe it, no matter how false.

    Let’s hope that the rest of the media harbors the same sentiments you do, Dan. Let’s hope they don’t try to fill air time by putting Vick apologists in a split screen with a Vick antagonist.

    I also don’t give Vick any credit for turning himself in. Why should we? Because Ken Lay didn’t?

    Erik

  6. I’m with TR – the “benefits/believe” is eminently quotable.

    Have a good Thanksgiving, everyone.

  7. Hello Dan,
    Vick is a puppet when in front of the cameras behind a microphone during this incident. He is only saying what his people tell him to say. I can only hope that once he has served his time, he will have learned a few life lessons. At the very least, maybe we will have one less dogfight supporter.

  8. My parents always used to say, in the face of such baldfacedness, “It’s bad enough you’re lying to us, but the credit you give our intelligence…”

  9. blah blah blah….

    ahhhh… a respite, for many, from the every day and the crass world of …well certain topics.

    Happy Thanksgiving Dan and family!

    …and to everyone out there.

    Thankfull today for those who are here (even sister in laws) and thinking about those no longer with us.

    Take care,

  10. I would bet that Ron Mexico, ur, Mike Vick would still be in the dogfighting game if he had not been caught by law enforcement. He didn’t quit for any other reason. Between Mike and Marcus Vick you might get 100 IQ points. So the most media hyped NFL player in many years, Mike Vick, is now in prison. Not too smart, Mike. I hope it was all worth it.

  11. I think Michael Vicks restitution is just right. Should he get a second chance? Yes. I would take the chance on him. After that, if he falls from grace again, he’s done. But to cut-out this type of problem altogether: QUITE HIRING THUGS!

    Monchy

  12. Right on RAMON, the ghetto is running football right now, and the media and guys like Blank are like criminal lawyers, taking money to defend them. Really sad.
    I am turning to college football, forget the NFL.
    If Vick were a lesser figure, like a lineman, there would be no talk of return. If this were Brett Favre, or Tom Brady, the media would never allow their return.

    DAN you do great interviews as always, I subscribe to your podcasts.

  13. very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  14. Thank you for sharing superb informations. Your site is so cool.
    I’m impressed by the details that you’ve on this website. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this website page, will come back for more articles. You, my friend, ROCK! I found just the info I already searched everywhere and simply could not come across. What an ideal web site.

  15. […] Mike Vick surrendering to police earlier this week, Mike Tyson getting sentenced to 24 hours in jail, OJ going on trial […]

Leave a Reply

